Questions for You

Questions for You

Film interviews with descendants of Jewish citizens from Fürstenwalde/Spree

By the beginning of the 20th century, around 150 to 160 Jewish citizens were living all over Fürstenwalde. They worked as doctors, dentists, craftsmen, lawyers or photographers. The shopping streets of Fürstenwalde contained 32 Jewish-owned shops. The National Socialist terror robbed these people of their lives – they were humiliated, driven into flight or murdered. After World War II, no Jewish families returned to Fürstenwalde. The town had thereby lost a segment of its inhabitants who had played an important role in the town’s societal, cultural and economic life before 1933.

Five interviews – filmed as part of the “Questions for You” project – are meant to bring this part of Fürstenwalde’s history back into the town’s memory. The interviews trace the lives of Jewish residents of Fürstenwalde from the perspective of their second- and third-generation descendants and show how the experiences of flight and expulsion during the National Socialist era continue to affect the following generations until this very day. The interviews were conducted with the children and grandchildren of Heinz and Dorothea Eisig (New Zealand), Julius, Hildegard and Gerhard Fürst (Australia), Gerda Brandt (Brazil), Werner and Hilde Hirsch (England), and Walter and Luise Brandt (New Zealand).

Film interview with Bev and Luise Brandt about their grandparents Walter and Luise Brandt

Read more:
Biographies of Luise and Walter Brandt
Research: Auf der Spur der Familien Behrendt und Brandt (de)

The project is funded by the federal programme “Living Democracy!” of the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ), the town of Fürstenwalde and the cultural promotion section of the District of Oder-Spree.

Fragen an Dich

Fragen an Dich

Filmische Interviews mit Nachfahren jüdischer BürgerInnen
aus Fürstenwalde/Spree

Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts lebten in Fürsten­walde inmitten der Stadtgemeinde ca. 150 bis 160 jüdische Bürger*innen. Sie arbeiteten als Ärzt*innen, Zahn­ärzt*innen, als Handwer­ker*in­nen, Anwält*innen oder Fotograf*innen. In den Fürsten­walder Einkaufs­straßen gab es 32 jüdische Ge­schäfte. Der national­sozialis­tische Terror beraubte die Menschen ihres Lebens – sie wurden gedemütigt, in die Flucht getrieben oder ermordet. Nach dem Zweiten Welt­krieg kehrten keine jüdischen Familien nach Fürstenwalde zurück. Die Stadt hatte einen Teil ihrer Einwohner verloren, der vor 1933 unzer­trennlich zu ihr gehört und einen wichtigen Platz im gesellschaftlichen, kul­turellen und wirt­schaft­lichen Leben einge­nommen hatte.

Filmische Interviews sollen diesen Teil der Fürstenwalder Geschichte im Rahmen des Projektes „Fragen an Dich“ wieder in die Erinnerung der Stadt zurückbringen. Sie zeichnen das Leben jüdischer Fürsten­wal­der*innen aus der Perspektive ihrer Nach­fahren in der zweiten und dritten Gene­ration nach und zeigen, wie intergenerativ bis heute Flucht- und Vertreibungs­erfah­rungen aus der Zeit des National­sozialis­mus wirken. Geplant sind insgesamt fünf Interviews mit Kindern und Enkel­kindern von Heinz und Dorothea Eisig (Neuseeland), Julius, Hildegard und Gerhard Fürst (Australien), Gerda Brandt (Brasilien), Werner und Hilde Hirsch (England) sowie Walter und Luise Brandt (Neuseeland).

Filmisches Interview mit Bev und Luise über ihre Großeltern Walter und Luise Brandt

Lesen Sie weiter:
Biografien von Luise und Walter Brandt
Archivrecherche: Auf der Spur der Familien Behrendt und Brandt

Das Vorhaben wird durch das Bundesprogramm „Demokratie leben!“ des Bundesministeriums für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ), der Stadt Fürstenwalde und der Kulturförderung des Landkreises LOS gefördert.